WORLDFDA nominee Heidi Overton declines to call healthcare a human rightOct 1, 2026
WORLDFox News outdraws CNN and MS NOW combined in Q3 2026Sep 30, 2026
RVPRetractable Technologies declares quarterly preferred dividendsSep 30, 2026
$BTCBitcoin ETFs Hold 6.29% of Supply, Targeting 10% by Mid-2029Sep 30, 2026
SLXNSilexion doses first patient in Phase 2/3 pancreatic cancer trialSep 30, 2026
REGULATORYAtlassian CEO Mike Cannon-Brookes rejects SaaSpocalypse narrativeSep 30, 2026
$BTCAnalyst ranks Bitcoin above Dogecoin as superior crypto buySep 30, 2026
WORLDUS military completes withdrawal of troops from Iraq after 12-year missionSep 30, 2026
WORLDFDA nominee Heidi Overton declines to call healthcare a human rightOct 1, 2026
WORLDFox News outdraws CNN and MS NOW combined in Q3 2026Sep 30, 2026
RVPRetractable Technologies declares quarterly preferred dividendsSep 30, 2026
$BTCBitcoin ETFs Hold 6.29% of Supply, Targeting 10% by Mid-2029Sep 30, 2026
SLXNSilexion doses first patient in Phase 2/3 pancreatic cancer trialSep 30, 2026
REGULATORYAtlassian CEO Mike Cannon-Brookes rejects SaaSpocalypse narrativeSep 30, 2026
$BTCAnalyst ranks Bitcoin above Dogecoin as superior crypto buySep 30, 2026
WORLDUS military completes withdrawal of troops from Iraq after 12-year missionSep 30, 2026

Credit Unions Controlling $25B in Assets Join Stablecoin Infrastructure Pilot via Stablecore, Circuit and Curql

US credit unions with combined assets of $25 billion are joining a stablecoin infrastructure pilot run by Stablecore, Circuit and Curql. The program gives participating institutions access to test stablecoin payments and other digital…

By Warren Ashby·Jun 25, 2026·2 min read·crypto

Key takeaways

  • US credit unions with combined assets of $25 billion are joining a stablecoin infrastructure pilot operated by Stablecore, Circuit and Curql.
  • The program is a test rather than a live deployment, giving participating credit unions access to trial stablecoin payment infrastructure and other digital asset services without committing to production volumes.
  • The $25 billion figure is the aggregate membership of all participating credit unions, not a single institution, so each must independently integrate and commit before it becomes live transaction volume.
  • Targeting member-owned, not-for-profit credit unions—whose regulatory posture is more conservative than commercial banks—suggests the providers view the cooperative banking sector as a distinct distribution channel.
  • The pilot does not reveal which stablecoin or blockchain rails are used, the cost structure for members, or whether regulatory sign-off preceded or will follow the test phase.

US credit unions with combined assets of $25 billion are joining a stablecoin infrastructure pilot run by Stablecore, Circuit and Curql. The program gives participating institutions access to test stablecoin payments and other digital asset services — extending cooperative banking into on-chain settlement territory for the first time under this structure.

What the Pilot Does

The program is framed as a test, not a live deployment. Participating credit unions gain access to stablecoin payment infrastructure, meaning they can trial the mechanics of moving value on-chain without committing to production volumes. Digital asset services beyond payments are also included in the scope, though the source does not specify which services. Stablecore, Circuit and Curql are the three entities operating the infrastructure.

Who Is Selling to Whom

The $25 billion asset figure covers the aggregate membership of credit unions in the program, not a single institution. That framing matters: a large headline number assembled from many smaller institutions carries different adoption risk than a single large bank committing. Each credit union in the network would need to independently integrate and commit before that dollar figure translates into live transaction volume.

The pilot structure — test access rather than immediate rollout — also leaves open the question of whether participating credit unions will proceed to production or exit quietly after evaluation. Pilots in financial infrastructure frequently stall at this stage; the named parties have not disclosed metrics that would signal a path to full deployment.

Why Credit Union Participation Is Structurally Significant

US credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit depositories operating under state and federal oversight. Their entry into a stablecoin pilot is notable precisely because their regulatory posture is more conservative than commercial banks. A coordinated pilot across institutions in this category suggests the infrastructure providers — Stablecore, Circuit and Curql — are targeting the cooperative banking sector as a distinct distribution channel rather than a secondary market.

What the pilot does not reveal: which stablecoin or blockchain rails underpin the infrastructure, what the cost structure looks like for member institutions, and whether regulatory sign-off preceded or will follow the test phase.

Share
© 2026 NewsMeter

Frequently asked

Who is running the stablecoin pilot and who is participating?

The pilot is operated by Stablecore, Circuit and Curql, with US credit unions holding a combined $25 billion in assets participating.

Does the $25 billion mean a single institution is committing that amount?

No, the $25 billion covers the aggregate membership of the credit unions in the program, and each must independently integrate and commit before that figure becomes live transaction volume.

Is this a live deployment or a test?

It is framed as a test, not a live deployment, letting credit unions trial stablecoin payment mechanics without committing to production volumes.

Why is credit union participation considered significant?

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit depositories with a more conservative regulatory posture than commercial banks, so a coordinated pilot suggests providers are targeting the cooperative banking sector as a distinct distribution channel.

What key details about the pilot remain undisclosed?

The pilot does not reveal which stablecoin or blockchain rails underpin it, the cost structure for member institutions, or whether regulatory sign-off preceded or will follow the test.